Thoughts Winters Bring Back!

“If winter comes, can spring be far behind?”
-Percy Bysshe Shelley (Ode to the West Wind)

Agitated minds, exasperated people and burnt up mother earth ; whole of the nature craves for a thing as rain departs, Winters! Soon animals hibernate in their deep borrows. Even the sun starts getting lazy. It rises late and goes down early. Heat isn’t heat anymore, it’s life. I’ve learnt somewhere :

Autumn showed me how beautiful it is to let things go.

Similarly, winter showed me how alluring solitude can become. There are times when you don’t even spot a single soul. As you walk down the lane, beauty gets personified. What surrounds you are yellow leaves detaching themselves and floating in the air as gently as feather and then resting on the earth with several others. You feel what you exhale;the mist. All you hear is a cracking sound as you walk on those dried leaves. That’a life in it’s purest form. To be, to serve and to set free.

Everytime winters arrive, the nature resting within me rises up. With hands inside the pocket of my overcoat, I stroll just to meet up with happiness. People entitle happiness to be unattainable. For me, it is in that peculiar smell of fog. It is in those pups born across the street which cluster together and doze off. It is in my numb fingertips and my pink nose. It is in the feeling of desolation as the fog engulfs you with arms wide open.

4

Winters can be associated with everything and Nostalgia lies on the top. It reminds me of my childhood. I recollect every minute detail profoundly, my vacations, projects, muddy smell of old wool and my blue pair of socks with the frill. I can still feel the warmth of the fire my mother lit up every night. She was fiery but still enjoyed when I scratched it with a stick. No matter I grew up, but as winters arrive it makes me the same old school fanatic damsel eager to blow air from my mouth. Those are the moments which make me realise that you grow and change, but still a part of you never dies. It lives on, and refuses to compromise, for anyone, for anything!

#iamvish

Leave a Reply

